Board of Directors

Ronald A. McIntosh

Mr. McIntosh is a director of North American Construction Group, a publicly traded corporation and was previously Chairman from May 2004 to October 31, 2017. He is a former director of Fortaleza Energy Inc. and is a director and Chair of the Reserves Committee and Audit Committees of Corval Energy Ltd., a private oil and gas company. He was Chairman and member of the Audit Committee of Tasman Exploration, a private oil and gas company. He is a member of the American Association of Petroleum Geologists and is a registered Professional Geologist with the Association of Professional Engineers, Geologists and Geophysicists of Alberta and has also completed the Executive Development Program at Columbia University in New York. He brings more than four decades of executive, operational and strategic leadership to the Board with his prior roles including President and CEO of Navigo Energy Inc., Chief Operating Officer of Gulf Canada, Vice President of Exploration and International with PetroCanada and Chief Operating Officer with Amerada Hess Canada. In addition, his broad experience with mergers and acquisitions as well as corporate rejuvenation and restructuring provides valuable perspectives and insights to Advantage.

Stephen E. Balog

Mr. Balog, a senior oil and gas executive and professional engineer, has more than 45 years of diversified industry experience and a proven operations track record in leading large scale oil and gas exploitation and development projects. He is president of West Butte Management Inc., a private oil and gas consulting firm, and prior thereto held the position of President, Chief Operating Officer and Director of Tasman Exploration Ltd.

As SPEE Reserves Committee Deputy Chairman and Committee Member Mr. Balog contributed to the drafting and implementation of the Canadian Oil & Gas Evaluation Handbook-Volumes 1& 2. He served on the Alberta Securities Commission Petroleum Advisory Committee from 2009-2011. Mr. Balog is a graduate of the University of Calgary, B. Sc. Chemical Engineering and is a member of APEGA and the Society of Petroleum Evaluation Engineers.

Grant B. Fagerheim

Mr. Fagerheim is President and Chief Executive Officer of Whitecap Resources Inc. He also currently serves on the board of Advantage Oil & Gas Ltd., a TSX publicly-traded company. As well, he acts as Advisor to KES7 Capital. He has worked in both the Canadian upstream and downstream segments of the energy industry. Founder of Ketch Energy Ltd., Ketch Resources Ltd., Kereco Energy Ltd. (Cadence) and Whitecap Resources Inc. His past directorships include both public and private energy companies and an oil and gas service company.

Mr. Fagerheim is an active member in the community in both volunteer and charity roles and has a passion for combining academics with athletics. He has served as Chairman of the Edge School for Athletes in Calgary. He has been a director of the Hockey Canada Foundation since January 2008, has served as Chairman of the Foundation and was also a member of the Order of Hockey Canada executive committee. In recognition for his contributions to Canada to date Mr. Fagerheim was awarded the Queen’s Diamond Jubilee Medal created in 2012 to honour the 60th anniversary of Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II.

Paul G. Haggis

Mr. Haggis was President and Chief Executive Officer of Ontario Municipal Employees Retirement System (OMERS) from September 2003 to March 2007 and prior thereto, Director and Interim Chief Executive Officer of the Public Sector Pension Investment Board (PSPIB). Mr. Haggis has extensive financial markets and public board experience having served on the Board of Directors of Canadian Tire Bank. Mr. Haggis was a director and Chair of the Investment Committee of the Insurance Corporation of British Columbia, Chair of the Audit Committee of C.A. Bancorp and Prime Restaurants Royalty Income Fund, and Chair of Canadian Pacific Railway, Director of UBC Investment Management Inc. He was Chief Operating Officer of Metlife Canadian operations and Chief Executive Officer of ATB Financial. Currently, Mr. Haggis is the Chairman of Alberta Enterprise Corp, a Director and Audit Chair of Home Capital Group Inc. and a Director of the Bank of Canada. Mr. Haggis is a graduate of the University of Western Ontario and is certified as a Chartered Director through the Directors College at McMaster University. He was a Commissioned Officer in the Royal Canadian Air Force Reserve.

Andy J. Mah

Mr. Mah has over 35 years of experience in the oil and gas industry. Prior to joining Advantage, Mr. Mah served as President of Ketch Resources Trust from September 2005 until June 2006 and was Chief Operating Officer from January to September 2005. From August 1996 to January 2005, Mr. Mah was the Executive Officer and Vice President, Engineering and Operations of Northrock Resources Ltd. which became a wholly owned subsidiary of Unocal in 2002. Prior thereto, Mr. Mah had increasing managerial and technical positions with Sceptre Resources Ltd., and BP Canada. Mr. Mah has significant experience in the western Canadian Basin in all facets of the upstream oil and gas industry and worked on U.S. and international projects during his time with Unocal and BP Canada.

Mr. Mah is a graduate of the University of Saskatchewan, B. Sc. Chemistry in 1980 and B. Sc. Chemical Engineering in 1982. He is a member of APEGA and the Society of Petroleum Engineers, previously was on the Board of Governors of the Canadian Association of Petroleum Producers (CAPP), and has served on other oil and gas boards.

Jill T. Angevine

Ms. Angevine is a Managing Director of Palisade Capital and has over 25 years of experience in the investment management industry including portfolio management, capital markets and equity research. Prior to joining Palisade Capital, Jill was a Portfolio Manager with Matco Financial, a Calgary-based investment management firm. Prior thereto, Jill was a Director of Institutional Research at FirstEnergy Capital Corp. Earlier in her career, Jill worked with a major accounting firm and gained financial experience in numerous sectors. Jill is a graduate of the University of Calgary (B. Comm) and has earned the Chartered Accountant (CA), the Chartered Financial Analyst (CFA) and the Institute of Corporate Directors (ICD.D) designations. She also serves on the Board of Directors of Tourmaline Oil Corp. and Chinook Energy Inc. and is an active community volunteer.

Jay P. Reid
Corporate Secretary

Mr. Reid is a Partner at the Calgary based law firm of Burnet, Duckworth & Palmer LLP where he has practiced corporate and securities law since 1990. Among other things, Mr. Reid provides advice to issuers and underwriters in respect of private and public issuances of securities and provides advice to issuers, financial advisors, Boards of Directors and special committees on business combinations, reorganizations, mergers, take-overs, arrangements, amalgamations, governance matters and shareholder activist activities. During his career, Mr. Reid has served as a director or Corporate Secretary for over 30 publicly listed or private companies.

Committees Of The Board Of Directors

Audit Committee

Paul Haggis (Chair)
Stephen Balog
Jill Angevine

Independent Reserves Evaluation Committee

Stephen Balog (Chair)
Paul Haggis
Ron McIntosh
Grant Fagerheim

Human Resources, Compensation and Corporate Governance Committee

Jill Angevine (Chair)
Ron McIntosh
Stephen Balog
Grant Fagerheim
Paul Haggis